John Grisham – Sycamore Row

John Grisham’s Sycamore Row is a sequel to the very first of his books – A Time To Kill – and is therefore the second novel in the Jake Brigance series.

This was the first time that Grisham had published a sequel to one of his previous novels.

The release date of this story was October 22, 2013.

Sycamore Row Book Description

John Grisham’s A Time to Kill is one of the most popular novels of our time. Now we return to that famous courthouse in Clanton as Jake Brigance once again finds himself embroiled in a fiercely controversial trial – a trial that will expose old racial tensions and force Ford County to confront its tortured history.

Seth Hubbard is a wealthy man dying of lung cancer. He trusts no one. Before he hangs himself from a sycamore tree, Hubbard leaves a new, handwritten, will.

It is an act that drags his adult children, his black maid, and Jake into a conflict as riveting and dramatic as the murder trial that made Brigance one of Ford County’s most notorious citizens, just three years earlier.

The second will raises far more questions than it answers:

Why would Hubbard leave nearly all of his fortune to his maid?

Had chemotherapy and painkillers affected his ability to think clearly?

And what does it all have to do with a piece of land once known as Sycamore Row?

John Grisham Sycamore Row

Click the book cover to read reviews of Sycamore Row on Amazon